Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for June 5th, 2010

I was out in the Toronto area this past week, visiting relatives. I also made a trip out to Lost Horizons Nursery to pick up a few plants I had ordered for my garden. Although it has become much easier to find unusual perennials, Lost Horizons still offers a selection that is hard to match. No matter how full you might think your garden is, you can always find something that you really, really need to add.

When Adrienne Clarkson, Canada’s 26th governor general, set out to renew Rideau Hall’s gardens, she turned to Lost Horizons as the source for many of her requirements. You can read about the garden renewal here.

Above are benches of mixed perennials, and the hostas. Pictured below are the hens and chicks (sempervivum).

What really sets Lost Horizons apart from other nurseries, however, is the garden. It is a magical place, like no other garden I know of. Rather than run through a thesaurus of superlatives, I’ll share these photographs with you. Truly inspiring, it makes me want to be a better gardener. If you are ever in that part of the world, a visit to the garden is worth the drive to Acton!

Read Full Post »

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 105 other followers