Archive for September 3rd, 2011


The village of Wakefield, located on the Gatineau River in the province of Quebec, has a beautiful covered bridge. You might be surprised to learn that the bridge was built in 1997.


The original covered bridge at this site was constructed in 1915. It was destroyed by fire in 1984. Three years later, local volunteers established a committee with the goal of building a new bridge. It would be faithful in structure to the original bridge, but intended for pedestrian and cyclist traffic only. Fundraising for the $600,000 needed got underway and by 1994, sufficient money had been raised to begin construction.

All of the structural wood used in the walls, floor and roof of the bridge is Douglas Fir. It was milled from boom logs formerly used in log drives on the Gatineau River. The walls and roof trusses were constructed in Wakefield and then moved to the bridge site. They were mounted on the concrete piers of the original bridge. In 1997, local volunteers sealed and stained the pine siding.


A bronze plaque was mounted in time for the official opening of the bridge on October 4, 1998. The bridge stands as a beautiful, stalwart reminder of Wakefield’s history and the continuing dedication of the community.


Read Full Post »