Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for March 20th, 2010

Woman Reading, by Henri Matisse, 1894. Wikipedia

If you’ve been meaning to get to a few books that you’ve had waiting on your shelf for a while, a reading challenge might be just the thing to get you motivated. In 2008, I participated in the Great Canadian Book Challenge and enjoyed it, but didn’t get myself organized to participate in 2009. My interest in joining another reading challenge was piqued by a post over at Truth in Fiction a new blog started by my niece, Historygirl, earlier this year.

Along with an entertaining cornucopia of history-related topics, Historygirl also reviews books, and back on February 4th, she put together an awesome list of Reading Challenges you can participate in. Additional possibilities are listed in her February 26th post.

I studied art history in years gone by, and thought I would try the Art History Reading Challenge. The requirements for the Curious level are modest: just three books, fact or fiction. I started off with Earth Colors, which was reviewed here last week.

There are lots of other book challenges to be found out in the blogosphere. Take a look around and find something that appeals to you, drop everything for a while and read!

Read Full Post »